# Trading journal cost calculator

What a trading journal costs a year at your number of broker accounts, billed monthly or yearly — the cheapest plan each journal's own tiers allow.

*https://stockmarketstack.com/calculators/trading-journal-cost · next to Trading Journal Software*

**Answer:** Several journals price by account count: TradeZella's entry plan allows one account, TraderSync's five and TradesViz's paid plans ten or twenty, while Edgewonk, Chartlog and StonkJournal allow unlimited accounts on every plan. For two accounts on yearly billing, the cheapest plan each card states runs from free to 531 dollars a year. Paying monthly costs 11 to 44 percent more where a card prints both prices.

The calculator itself is interactive at https://stockmarketstack.com/calculators/trading-journal-cost. These are the rates it multiplies, each with the document it was read from:

## Rates

| Rate | Value |
| --- | --- |
| TradeZella Essential — accounts: 1 | yearly: $315.00; monthly: $35.00 |
| TradeZella Pro — accounts: 50 | yearly: $531.00; monthly: $59.00 |
| TradeZella Ultra — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $891.00; monthly: $99.00 |
| TradeZella, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/tradezella, pricing verified 2026-10-03 |
| Tradervue Basic (free) — accounts: not stated | yearly: $0.00; monthly: $0.00 |
| Tradervue Silver — accounts: unlimited | yearly: not stated; monthly: $29.95 |
| Tradervue Gold — accounts: unlimited | yearly: not stated; monthly: $49.95 |
| Tradervue, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/tradervue, pricing verified 2026-10-03 |
| TraderSync Pro — accounts: 5 | yearly: $269.52; monthly: $29.95 |
| TraderSync Premium — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $449.52; monthly: $49.95 |
| TraderSync Elite — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $719.52; monthly: $79.95 |
| TraderSync, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/tradersync, pricing verified 2026-09-14 |
| TradesViz Basic (free) — accounts: 1 | yearly: $0.00; monthly: $0.00 |
| TradesViz Pro — accounts: 10 | yearly: $179.88; monthly: $19.99 |
| TradesViz Platinum — accounts: 20 | yearly: $269.88; monthly: $29.99 |
| TradesViz, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/tradesviz, pricing verified 2026-09-13 |
| Edgewonk Edgewonk Trading Journal — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $197.00; monthly: not stated |
| Edgewonk, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/edgewonk, pricing verified 2026-09-14 |
| Chartlog Lite — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $161.88; monthly: $14.99 |
| Chartlog Standard — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $305.88; monthly: $29.99 |
| Chartlog Pro — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $383.88; monthly: $39.99 |
| Chartlog, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/chartlog, pricing verified 2026-09-13 |
| Trademetria Free — accounts: 1 | yearly: $0.00; monthly: $0.00 |
| Trademetria Basic — accounts: 1 | yearly: $169.00; monthly: $19.95 |
| Trademetria Pro — accounts: 50 | yearly: $249.00; monthly: $29.95 |
| Trademetria, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/trademetria, pricing verified 2026-09-13 |
| StonkJournal Free — accounts: unlimited | yearly: $0.00; monthly: $0.00 |
| StonkJournal Pro — accounts: unlimited | yearly: not stated; monthly: $10.00 |
| StonkJournal, source | StockMarketStack card /tools/stonkjournal, pricing verified 2026-10-07 |

## What it computes

For each journal, the form walks the plans from the cheapest up and stops at the first one whose
stated account cap admits your number of broker accounts. It prints that plan's price for a year,
on the billing period you choose: yearly is the annual price the card records, monthly is twelve
month-to-month payments. The rows are sorted by that figure, all in US dollars.

A plan whose card states no account limit is let through and flagged with a "check before buying"
line rather than assumed either way. Every row also carries what else that plan caps or leaves
out — trades a month, executions, asset classes, replay — because the cheapest plan that admits
your accounts is not always one you can use. A free plan capped at 30 imported trades a month is
no use to a day trader, whatever its account limit.

The default is two accounts on yearly billing: the first number at which the account caps of
TradeZella, TradesViz and Trademetria move the price.

## Where the numbers come from

Every plan, account cap and price is read from the pricing block of that journal's card, as of the
date the block was verified, which the calculator prints under the result; the Markdown twin of
this page prints each plan with its cap and both prices. Where a card gives the annual price per
month billed yearly — Chartlog does — the year is twelve of those, the vendor's own arithmetic.
A yearly saving given only as a percentage is not turned into a price: TraderSync's card prints
both, and 25 percent off its monthly price does not quite give its annual figure, so the printed
figure is the only thing worth multiplying.

TraderSync's own page contradicts itself on accounts: the plan cards say Premium and Elite are
unlimited, while a tooltip on the same page says 20 and 50. The table follows the plan cards and
prints the tooltip on the row. For how three of these journals differ beyond the price, see
[Tradervue, TraderSync and TradeZella](https://stockmarketstack.com/compare/tradervue-vs-tradersync-vs-tradezella).

## What it leaves out

- **Journals whose plans state no account limit.** [TradeNote](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradenote)'s self-hosted and
  cloud plans state none. [Kinfo](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/kinfo) states none, and gives its yearly saving as a
  percentage only. [TradeFuse](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradefuse) caps portfolios, and its card does not say that a
  portfolio is one broker account; its yearly saving is a percentage too.
  [TradeBench](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradebench) is free, with every feature and no paid plan, and states no
  account limit.
- **One-time licences.** [TradingDiary Pro](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradingdiary-pro) is bought once, with an
  optional yearly fee for upgrades, and states no account limit; a per-year table of subscriptions
  is the wrong shape for it, so it is on its card and not here.
- **Volume caps as an input.** Free and entry plans cap imported trades, orders or executions a
  month, each vendor in its own unit. They are printed on the row, not computed.
- **Features.** Replay, AI credits, broker auto-sync and report depth separate many plans more than
  accounts do; Trademetria keeps broker auto-sync to Pro, for instance. The cards say what each
  plan includes.
- **Promotions and taxes.** Edgewonk adds VAT in the EU and UK and was selling its yearly price as
  a 16-month term on 14 September 2026; trials and introductory discounts change the first year
  only. None of that is modelled.
- **Getting the trades in.** If your broker's export is the hard part, see
  [exporting broker trade history](https://stockmarketstack.com/how-to/export-broker-trade-history).

## Tools this bears on

- [TradeZella](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradezella.md) — Auto-synced trade journal with bar-by-bar replay, backtesting and AI session review.
- [Tradervue](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradervue.md) — The category's oldest journal, 81 supported brokers, and a free tier that still works.
- [TraderSync](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradersync.md) — Trade journal with options spread detection on Elite and market replay down to 250ms.
- [TradesViz](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradesviz.md) — The analytics-heavy journal: 150+ base charts across seven instrument types.
- [Edgewonk](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/edgewonk.md) — Post-trade analytics and discipline tracking on one annual plan, with no free tier.
- [Chartlog](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/chartlog.md) — A cheap US stocks-and-options day-trading journal whose website stopped moving in 2022.
- [Trademetria](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/trademetria.md) — Multi-asset trade journal and tracker with a free plan and a 194-name import list.
- [StonkJournal](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/stonkjournal.md) — A free manual-entry trade journal with no trade cap; $10 adds file import and an AI coach.

## FAQ

### Which journals are free for more than one account?

StonkJournal's free plan states no trade or account limit, but every trade on it is typed in by hand. Tradervue's free Basic plan states no account limit either and caps imports at 30 trades a calendar month. TradesViz and Trademetria keep their free plans to one account. The calculator shows the free plan wherever its card allows your count, with that plan's other limits printed on the row.

### Is yearly billing always cheaper?

Where a card prints both prices, yes — monthly billing costs from 11 percent more over a year on Chartlog Lite to 44 percent more on Trademetria Pro. Tradervue offers no annual rate, StonkJournal shows none, and Edgewonk sells only a yearly plan, so for those the calculator shows the one price there is and says why the other is missing.

### Why is TradingDiary Pro not in the table?

Because it is a one-time licence with an optional yearly upgrade fee, not a subscription, and its card states no limit on accounts. Putting it on a per-year scale beside subscriptions would turn a licence into a monthly price it does not have. Its card carries the licence and upgrade prices.

## Sources

1. [TradeZella card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradezella) — StockMarketStack, 2026-10-03
2. [Tradervue card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradervue) — StockMarketStack, 2026-10-03
3. [TraderSync card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradersync) — StockMarketStack, 2026-09-14
4. [TradesViz card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/tradesviz) — StockMarketStack, 2026-09-13
5. [Edgewonk card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/edgewonk) — StockMarketStack, 2026-09-14
6. [Chartlog card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/chartlog) — StockMarketStack, 2026-09-13
7. [Trademetria card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/trademetria) — StockMarketStack, 2026-09-13
8. [StonkJournal card, pricing block](https://stockmarketstack.com/tools/stonkjournal) — StockMarketStack, 2026-10-07

*Last updated 2026-10-07. Rates re-read from the schedules on that date; corrected in place.*
